Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Visa Form
Visa Requirements
Visa Fee

  Click for Nairobi Jomo, Kenya Forecast




Kenya covers an area of approximately 224,960 square miles and lies almost exactly astride the equator.

Location and climate

The Republic of Kenya is in East Africa, lying along the Indian Ocean to its southeast. Kenya is bordered by Somalia to the northeast, Ethiopia to the north, Sudan to the northwest, Uganda to the west and Tanzania to the south. The country is named after Mount Kenya, a significant landmark and second among Africa's highest mountain peaks.

Kenya has a tropical climate, summer clothes are worn throughout the year. It is hot and humid at the coast, temperate inland and very dry in the north and northeast parts of the country. There is a lot of rain between March and May (the long rains) and moderate rain in October and November (the short rains). The hottest period is from February to March and coldest in July to August.

Kenya is a country of great ethnic diversity. Most Kenyans are bilingual in English and Swahili. A large percentage speaks the mother tongue of their ethnic tribe.

Principal commercial cities and towns

Nairobi is the capital city and a commercial center. It is situated 300 miles from the Coast and lies midway between the capitals of Uganda and Tanzania. It is the largest city in East Africa and houses two UN agencies, UNEP and Habitat. Nairobi continues to be the primary communication and financial hub of East Africa. It enjoys the region's best transportation linkages, communications infrastructure, and trained personnel. A wide range of foreign firms maintain regional branch or representative offices in the city.

Mombasa is Kenyas main port and a popular holiday city. It is situated on an island in a natural sheltered inlet. It is the only port that serves not only Kenya but land locked countries like Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi and Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo and Southern Sudan.

Kisumu is the Chief Port city on the shores of lake Victoria. It serves western Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania.

Nakuru is an agricultural and industrial town in the Rift Valley basin.

Eldoret lies on the main road and rail route to Uganda. It is mainly an agricultural town that serves wheat and Maize farmers from the North Rift

Kenya comprises eight provinces each headed by a Provincial Commissioner. The provinces (mkoa ) are subdivided into districts (wilaya). There were 69 districts as of 1999 census. Districts are then subdivided into 497 divisions (taarafa). The divisions are then subdivided into 2,427 locations (mtaa) and then 6,612 sublocations (mtaa mdogo)
Any holiday falling on a Sunday becomes a public holiday the following Monday.

* Kenya National Holidays


Important Links
Ministry of Trade
Ministry of Industrialization
African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA)
Centre for Business Information in Kenya
Export Promotion Council
Export Processing Zones Authority
Investment Promotion Centre
Kenya Association of Manufacturers
Kenya Revenue Authority

© 2010-2011 Kenya Consulate in Bangladesh
Best view resolution 1024 x 786 pixel | Powered by Aamra Infotainment Ltd.